Bash It or Buy It: Smashbox Photo Finish 24hr Shadow Primer

BOBSmashbox

Dang this product has a long name. HAHA no but really.You know? I was very skeptical about this product at first. Why? Because all of these super long wear products honestly to me don’t last as long as they say or even close to. Lately, I’ve been using a combination of products that have been working for me for quite some time. Which is using the Too Faced shadow insurance on my eyelids first for my primer then adding my Mac cosmetics spaint pot in soft ochre on top. Why the layering? Because using either one of these products on their own I still get creasing in eyeshadow at the end of the day. Now, not as much as it would be if I didn’t use either of these products but I still had creasing.

Now after switching out my Too Faced primer for the Smashbox eyeshadow primer I have been pleasantly surprised. I’ve used it both with my paint pot and without it and either way I get great long wear result. It’s different then other primers you might’ve seen like the elf eyeshadow primer or like the Too Faced primer I mention earlier, which are quite similar in texture. What makes this primer different is its consistency. It is very thick and by thick, I mean thicker than peanut butter. Because of this you really only need a small amount or you can very easily end up with a sticky mess. And when I say sticky I mean it, it’s not like other eye primers they have a little slip to them and easily glide across the lid. But I think that’s part of the reason it works.

Does it make your shadow last for 24 hrs? I have no idea, why? Because I don’t wear makeup 24 hrs a day but it did last me 10 hrs before I washed it up.

So, in true review fashion. This product gets a buy it rating from me! Have any of you tried it? What did you think? Was it too thick for you? Or just right?

