Bash It or Buy It: Ciaté Velvet Manicure

IMG_8253.JPG

I purchased mine from TJ Maxx but I have also seen it online in the sale section of Sephora.com. What attracted me to this set was the color. I love the burgundy or maroon or oxblood type colors, they are some of my favorite. Plus I got mine on sale for $9.99 which is an awesome deal for these polishes so I couldn’t pass it up. Now as the name suggests the velvet involves these interesting little fibers that you put on your nails while you’re polish is wet. Now I can tell you using the fibers does take a little getting used to. My first two or three nails didn’t turn out so well. But as I kept going along I got better at it. What’s weird about the fibers is that the are extremely soft and extremely sticky at the same time. I had little strings of colored fiber everywhere. Even if I hadn’t spilled any of it while using it, I still ended up with it somewhere on either my body or my floor.

After I was finished with the mani it looked pretty good especially from afar. However, after the first time I washed my hands is what did it in for me. My fingernail felt disgusting. It felt like a wet teddy bear and didn’t quite dry even after using my hand towel. I honestly felt that I would accidentally get the fibers on my nails. So that right there makes this product a Bash It product for me.

I don’t have picture of my nails with this product on because it was so weird I had to take it off. Now this is the only polished set that I’ve purchased from this brand so I can’t say anything about the rest of the line but the velvet manicure doesn’t do it for me. Have any of you tried the velvet manicure? What were your thoughts?

Until next time bye-bye.

