Rimmel London Retro Glam Mascara- Influenster Review

20131113-100228.jpg

I received the new Rimmel London SCANDALEYES Retro Glam mascara as part of the Influenster Rose VoxBox. Below is a picture of my eyes without the mascara and after the application of two coats of the mascara which is my usual routine. I always apply two coats and sometimes depending on the formula three coats.

20131117-155552.jpg

For me this mascara was a definite miss. I do like the look and feel of the handle. Like I can get a really good grip on it and really get to my lashes. I also like the hourglass shape of the brush which I feel really gets to more of my lashes without having to move the wand around. I also liked that it didn’t flake on me during the day. But what makes it a miss for me is the formula. It’s very clumpy. I am usually the girl who leans toward a so-called clumpy mascara formula because I love volume. My lashes naturally are pretty curly and fairly long so that’s what I look for in a mascara. The missing part so to speak. This mascara for me was clumpy in a bad way. When I applied it my lashes immediately clumped together and when I went on to add the second coat and try and separate the lashes I ended up with very spidery, clumpy lashes.

It was like my lashes were little clumped together spikes with balls of mascara on the ends. I had to take a clean spoolie to my lashes to get the balls of excess product off of the ends of my lashes.

For the most part I like the bulk of the product to be at the base of my lashes to give the illusion of more lashes as well as the illusion I am wearing eyeliner for those times I don’t have any time to put some on.

