Going Bananas!

So I had a whole bunch of bananas in my kitchen and they were just getting darker by the day. My son was on a banana kick for almost two weeks, it was all that he asked me for. “Mama? Nana? Nana, pease Mama?” is what he would say to me in his little boy voice. So I was buying them like crazy until he just decided one day that he didn’t like bananas anymore :-/

I had so many bananas I didn’t know what to do with- at first. One night I made banana smoothies for dessert. The next night as the peels began to blacken even more I decided I would make banana bread. I had never made it before and didn’t have all of the ingredients the original recipe called for but I went for it any way! I am no expert but hey

20130424-082730.jpg

It was so good- we had already started to dog it before I was able to take a picture!!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Banana Bread with Pecans

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 ripe bananas
1 cup sugar
2 sticks of butter, melted
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup pecans, roughly chopped

Mix dry ingredients and put aside.

Blend  melted butter, eggs, and vanilla with 2 bananas and sugar until smooth.

Mix wet ingredients & mix with dry ingredients.

Thoroughly mash  2 bananas & add to batter

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour 20 mins and tada!

20130424-082812.jpg

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Banana Choco Cupcakes

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 stick butter
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 2 eggs, 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chips (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp Baking soda
  • 1/3 tsp Baking power
  • 1/4 cup whole milk

Mix dry ingredients and put aside.

Mix wet ingredients & mix with dry ingredients.

Thoroughly mash bananas & add to batter

Place in cupcake pan with cupcake liners and bake at 350 degrees for 20 mins and done! Top with your favorite chocolate frosting to finish off this super easy peasy cupcakes!

I am no recipe writer nor claim to be but here they are in simple terms as I made them.

Have any of you tried any new recipes lately? What are your favorites?

