NYX Goodies

20121206-161127.jpg

I ordered some NYX goodies online and got them in the mail yesterday (I posted a pic on Instagram) and I thought I would share some of my first impressions. I order the Wicked Dreams palette,  the Above and Beyond Full Coverage concealer in Orange and the Carribian Collection 5 color shadow in I Dream of St. Lucia.

Here are the colors:

20121206-161145.jpg

20121206-161201.jpg

Here are the colors from the 5-color eyeshadow palette. I do love the colors but the pigment level leaves something to be desired. I had to really pack on the color in these swatches to get the color payoff I wanted.

20121206-161216.jpg

This is the orange concealer/corrector. The orange pigment helps to hide blue tones in the skin, which is great for under eye circles, and you can add a concealer on top that more closely matches your skin color/tone to then brighten the under eye area. This one is really orange and a lot goes a long way so you don’t need much to get the job done. I haven’t tried it on my face (or anyone’s for that matter) yet but in truth I am a little afraid to. Not because of the color but because after I swatched it on my wrist it did not want to come off! 20121206-161355.jpg

The top row of colors are fromthe Wicked Dreams palette. When I first saw this palette I immediately loved it but when I went to swatch it I was a little disappointed. Some of the colors are very chalky and lack luster  Others don’t have as much pigment as I would like and the color payoff is left lacking. On the bright side there are a few shades that are absolutely gorgeous! I think I will still be able to work with it but it probably wont be the first thing I grab for in the morning?

I have other NYX products that I love! Like the Jumbo Pencils and Lip Liners, I just wasn’t too impressed with these palettes. The jury is still out on the Full Coverage Concealer.

What NYX products have you tried? Did you like them?

